Blog Assignment #3

Use WorldCat, Open WorldCat, and/or the NCSU Libraries Catalog to find three (3) books (NOT reference books) that will be helpful for your topic. You might choose a book written by a single author (a “monograph”), or a book of papers delivered at a scholarly conference (a “conference proceeding”), or a book of essays and articles.

Describe exactly how you found these sources, explain why you think they are the best sources available to you, and reflect on your research process so far.

NOTE: Be sure to leave TWO lines between paragraphs in your comment to make paragraphs clearer.

    • Tria Metzler
    • February 11th, 2007

    Sources for research on my topic are becoming a little easier to find. Going over the methods of retrieving scientific articles using Academic Search Premier was really helpful. Academic Search Premier helped me locate two useful articles: ?Creating Fido’s Twin? and ?Carbon-Copy Clone is the Real Thing.? Another article, ?No Nine Lives for Cat Cloners? also may be helpful, but I am not sure yet as it is not available on-line. It was published in the scientific journal Science, of which D. H. Hill has a copy, so I will locate that resource in the library this week. I’m also interested to search through some of the editions of Science, just to see what else is available and pertinent. Another journal that should be a great source is the Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association, also on file in the library.
    Using Academic Search Premier, I also found one not useful article. ?Toward a Theory of the World Wide WebVernacular: The Case for Pet Cloning? was retrieved for obvious reasons. However, it is focused on the way the companies present their case to the public rather than the science itself. The author, Robert Glenn, is interested in researching how the public appeal is constructed and delivered via the Internet, and he only covers the topic of pet cloning in enough depth to introduce his investigation
    I have also made a trip to the seventh floor of D. H. Hill, which, as far as I’m concerned, was an accomplishment because the elevators were out of commission that afternoon! I found six books based on cloning, the ethics of cloning, and some even on the ethics of pet cloning. The biggest issue I am having with print sources is finding recently published works; most seem to have come out in 2002, and there have been significant advances in the research since that time. However, I have only looked through a portion of the shelf, and I have since found two other books, both published in 2006 that should contribute a lot to my topic: Animal Rights by William Dudley, and Cloning by Louise I. Gerdes. I also recently acquired The Animal Ethics Reader by Susan Armstrong and Richard Botzler through Tripsaver, and am looking forward to examining it more closely this weekend.
    Another issue I am having is finding reference books specifically on the topic of pet cloning. The issue seems to be too recent to have any notable reference books based only on pet cloning, let alone pet cloning ethics. Most reference books I have found provide sources on cloning in general, and after looking through a few of these sources, I found they are not specific enough to be of any real use to me. However, by using the bibliographies of the scientific journals I have retrieved, I am working through this problem without too much difficulty.

    • Nikki Harris
    • February 12th, 2007

    I started my search off in Academic Search Premier, looking only for books. I used the keywords El Nino and Global warming, but no books came up. Then I look for any type of publication, and many articles, journals, newspapers, and magazines came up. These will all be useful, but I guess we will discuss them later. Anyways, I decided my search was too specific to find anything in books since my topic is fairly recent and narrow. I broadened my search to find just books on El Nino and global warming so I could find useful information to use later in my comparison. And I figure that the articles will have more correlation between El Nino and global warming, so I will use them for that side of my research.
    But here are the books I have found that are the most useful:
    El Nin?o and the southern oscillation : multiscale variability and global and regional impacts / edited by Henry F. Diaz and Vera Markgraf.
    I found this book by searching for El Nino in the catalog search. This book will be very useful for background information on El Nino and its effects on North America. Once I see how El Nino affects the climate, I can compare this to global warming and decide if there is any connection.
    Our affair with El Nin?o : how we transformed an enchanting Peruvian current into a global climate hazard / S. George Philander.
    Again I found this book searching in the same way. This book is important because I will be able to see how humans interact with El Nino and see if our actions (global warming) are causing El Nino.
    When I did the same search and clicked on books/monographs, all that came up was a world almanac and book on El Nino and La Nina, so I don’t know how useful it will be.
    The weather makers :
    how man is changing the climate and what it means for life on Earth /
    Tim F Flannery
    I found this book by searching for El Nino in worldcat. This book is useful to see if human really do have an impact on climate and to see if there is anything humans need and can do to help Earth. It will be interesting to see if this book connects global warming and El Nino.
    Is the temperature rising? :
    the uncertain science of global warming /
    S George Philander
    I also found this book in the same worldcat search. I really like this book so I wanted to include it. It will be useful to see if the author makes a connection with El Nino and global warming.
    Overall, I am not having trouble finding books on my topic. Worldcat proved to be a better search for books than the catalog search. I really like the books I found in worldcat! My search for books on El Nino was very effective. I had a harder time when I searched for global warming and more specifically global warming in North America. I think if I search in more areas (worldcat, etc.) then I will have more luck. But so far I am off to a good start. I have some books to use for background info and now I just need to search for articles that make any connection between El Nino and global warming.

    • Genevieve Pike
    • February 12th, 2007

    I used Open World Cat for my search since that had the largest database and also the option to look at books only, unlike NCSU’s catalog. First I searched “sodium sulfide”, which gave 80 results but a majority of them did not have anything to do with pulping. So, I refined my search to “sodium sulfide pulping”. This provided four results, three of which I provided below. I also tried “replacement for sodium sulfide” and “substitute for sodium sulfide”, but these did not return any results because they were too specific. I also tried “kraft pulping”, but this search was too broad, providing 485 results. (All of these results were after limiting the search to books only.) I found all of these books after searching the same term: “sodium sulfide pulping”.
    Lopez, Ildefonso Enrique. The Role of Sodium Sulfide in the Pre-Treatment of a Modified Kraft Pulping System., 1999.
    Okeke, Christopher Dike. Comparative Delignification Effects of Ammonium Sulfide, Green Liquor and Sodium Carbonate Catalysed Pulping of Bagasse., 1981.
    Ransdell, John C. Effect of Sodium Sulfide on the Kraft Causticization Reaction Equilibrium., 1989.
    I feel that all three of these books will provide good background information on my subject and research question, but are not nearly recent enough to use to make new research. I believe that articles will be the best source of information, providing the most current information available to me. Since it takes books so long to be published, they will not contain the information I need. However, I can use the books above to help point me in the right direction. Once I know what sodium sulfide does and why it is used, I can better judge the successfulness of replacements.

    • Joseph Barton
    • February 12th, 2007

    On both WorldCat and Open WorldCat, finding books related to textiles was giving very similar results to the NCSU catalog (in the College of Textiles). I concluded that when I found a book, most likely I won?t have to use Tripsaver. Results for textile articles was the opposite, and may be beneficial when I take searching to the next level of specificity. I started with the general search for ?Carbon nanotubes? because a recent NASA periodical said they were looking into this new resource because of its conductive properties that would be applied to the elevator?s propulsion system. I found:
    — Ebbesen TW. Carbon nanotubes : Preparation and properties. Boca Raton, Fla.: CRC Press; 1997. 296 p.
    This book should give me some interesting ideas of how carbon nanotubes may be implemented for a specific purpose and maybe how I could implement them into the entire composite.
    I then searched for ?ceramics? and found a book that specifically applied ceramics to structures in outer space:
    — Dunbar BJ, Lense E, American Ceramic Society. Meeting. Materials processing in space. Columbus, Ohio: American Ceramic Society; 1983. 343 p.
    I then used the subject headings to find other congresses like this one and found an interesting book:
    — Hoa SV, Johnston A, Denault J, Canadian Association for Composite Structures and Materials. Design, manufacturing & application of composites : Proceedings of the third canadian international conference on composites, CANCOM 2001, august 21-24, 2001, montréal, québec, canada. Lancaster, PA: Technomic Publishing Co.; 2001.
    These conferences on composites are exactly the information I need to see the properties of certain blended materials. These two searches helped me define some better keyword searches that include:
    FIBROUS COMPOSITES
    COMPOSITE MATERIALS
    FIBER REINFORCED PLASTICS
    FIBER-REINFORCED CERAMICS
    SUPERCONDUCTING COMPOSITES
    These keywords should come in handy when searching for articles.
    I combined the keywords I found with Kevlar and Spectra to find these three books on how Kevlar and Spectra have been tested in various composites:
    — Su T. A study of the effects of fiber blend ratio on tensile characteristics of thermoplastically bonded kevlar fiber composites. ; 1994.
    — Tsoi B. Strength and fracture of polymer films and fibers; trans. by olga arzhakova. New York: Nova Science; 2002.
    — Ulcay Y. The effect of surface treatment on the bonding properties of spectra fibers for use in composite structures. ; 1991. 322 p.
    These books are almost all after 1990, which is timely, considering how long it takes to publish so much material because of the long process of reviewing to make it authoritative. This next step at looking at composite materials will specify what composites work well together and produce properties that are satisfactory to my application.
    Locating relevant books, I found, was very easy. There is a large amount of text devoted to combining fibers, plastics, and ceramics. The hard part will be sorting through all the unnecessary information in these books to find the properties I want. These books should show what kind of potential these materials have and their general properties. I think the book search will serve in the aspect of narrowing my search rather than finding a whole lot of useful information for my application. I should know what to look for when starting my article search.

    • Maggie Hennessy
    • February 12th, 2007

    My research question thus far deals with the effects that the National Environmental Policy Act has had upon city planning and design. This Act was passed in 1970, so there has been plenty of time for books to be published since then. I think my biggest obstacle will be whether or not the policies set forth by NEPA are still extremely relevant. I don’t really know if other acts or major laws have been passed since then. Nevertheless, I am still very interested in seeing how this Act has affected city planning.
    A national policy for the environment :NEPA and its aftermath /Richard A Liroff, 1976
    I found this book by searching for “NEPA” in WorldCat. This book seems to be extremely relevant because it specifically looks at the aftermath of NEPA and how it has changed environmental policies. It was, however, published in 1976, so it may be outdated, but because NEPA is still in effect, its affects should still be relevant. Because it was published so soon after the passing of the act, it should have a good picture of how thing were before and after the act.
    The role of NEPA in the Mid-Atlantic States : oversight field hearing before the Committee on Resources, U.S. House of Representatives, One Hundred Ninth Congress, first session, Saturday, September 17, 2005, in Norfolk, Virginia.
    I found this set of conference proceedings by searching “NEPA” in our library’s catalog and narrowing the search to books. This is a very recent session which proves that NEPA is still very important in today’s environmental policies. It specifically looks at the effect of NEPA in the Mid-Atlantic states which could be very interesting because it would apply to where I have lived.
    The NEPA book : a step-by-step guide on how to comply with the National Environmental Policy Act / Ronald E. Bass, Albert I. Herson, Kenneth M. Bogdan.
    I also found this book by searching for “NEPA” in the NCSU library catalog under books. This was published in 2001, so it seems more relevant than the book published in 1976. This book looks at the practical side of NEPA and lays out the guidelines of NEPA. It should prove to be very useful.
    The titles of each of the books give the impression that they should prove very useful when researching the effects of NEPA. I do, however, need to actually make my way up to the stacks and check out the books themselves to see if they prove to be relevant. I am finding information pretty easily. I think this is because I limited my topic to a specific law that was passed 37 years ago, so it has been around for a while and continues to play an important role in American development.

    • Amber Joyner
    • February 12th, 2007

    The three most helpful books I have found so far are:
    “US-Mexican economic integration: NAFTA at the grassroots” written by John Bailey from the University of Texas at Austin in 2001. I found this book in Worldcat under the search topics “NAFTA” and “US Politics” limiting the search to Books. This book addresses one of the most important elements of political change– the grassroots, the concerns of individuals in the political economy. Overall, this book reviews the public opinion concerning free trade and more specifically, NAFTA, which will be helpful in analyzing the changes in political platforms of Congressional candidates since 1994. This book comes out of the School of Public Affairs at the University of Texas at Austin and can therefore be considered a very scholarly and reliable source for extracting information and ideas. Also, having been published in 2001, seven years after NAFTA’s enactment, it allows for a good analysis of the changes that NAFTA has created in the domestic political economy of the US.
    The second is, “Take this job and ship it: how corporate greed and brain-dead politics are selling out America” by Byron L. Dorgan, published in 2006. I found this book through Worldcat as well, under the search strings “Free Trade” and “Politics.” While this book does not deal directly with the issue of politcal change due to NAFTA, it provides a summary and analysis of the economic changes it has brought about. This is an important element to consider since the economic hardships that NAFTA has created, mostly for middle class Americans, will certainly have influenced their concern with economic policy while electing Congressional representatives. Therefore, these concerns will be directly reflected in the political promises of these candidates. Since politicians tend to focus their campaigns around what issues their constituents are immediately concerned about, it is important to understand the economic effects of NAFTA on middle class Americans in order to understand its political effects. This book also focuses on the impact on industrial regions within the United States, as they are the most effected by the economic changes with America. This book was written in 2006 and therefore includes the most recent elements of political and economic changes in the US.
    Finally, “Interpreting NAFTA: the science and art of political analysis” by Frederick Mayer in 1998. This book also deals directly with my research topic. It analyzes not only the political changes resulting from NAFTA but the Campaign behind its enactment in the early 1990s. It also has chapters addressing issues of “labor and environment negotiations” and “growing grassroots opposition” dealing directly with the source of political action and change: the people. This book is published by Columbia University Press, a very prestigious and reliable publisher. As the book is written in 1998, it will most likely deal with the more immediate effects of the free trade agreement rather than long-term effects. It is important, however, to understand both the short-term and long-term effects of economic policy since both play a major role in shaping political policies and concerns.
    So far, the research process is going pretty well. Most of the sources I have found have been from Journals, focusing on an analysis/summary of various books and articles written on the effects of NAFTA. I haven’t found any sources directly addressing my question but have rather discovered that, in order to answer my question, it will require a compilation of different facts and analyses drawn together. For example, I have found many sources on the economic effects of NAFTA as well as on the general changes in politics. These, however, will require me to put these facts together and analyze in what way these different facts relate to each other, i.e. how certain economic factors have influenced the political changes. Otherwise, I have found A LOT of helpful information and will have to start cutting out irrelevant facts and information in order to focus directly on my research question.

    • Adam Nock
    • February 12th, 2007

    The first book that I found is “The Middle Path in Math Instruction : Solutions for Improving Math Education.” It seams very useful because it appears to be exactly about my topic, “What are the various educational models for teaching math and how can they improve math education in secondary schools?” It pertains to the second part of my question. Also the table of contents lists section on historical and current philosophies in math education, as well as several sections on improving them. I found it by searching “math eduction” in the NCSU catalog.
    The second book that I found is “Looking into Classrooms : Papers on Didactics.” Didactics is “the study of the science or art of teaching.” This book has lots of information about various educational theories and models. I found it by searching “math education” and then refining my search by selecting the categories “L – Education > LB5 – LB3640 Theory and practice of education.”
    My last book is “Teachers & Schooling Making a Difference : Productive Pedagogies, Assessment and Performance.” It is a more general work about improving education and practices. I found it by searching the subject “teaching philosophy,” when it was suggested by the second book. From there I chose a similar subject “effective teaching.”
    Using the catalog I have found that it is becoming easier to find research material. The subject suggestions and Library of Congress subject headings are very helpful.

    • Amy Stepp
    • February 12th, 2007

    I started out my search this week by going to Open Worldcat. It seemed the more comprehensive search (in addition to the closed Worldcat) out of the original catalog searches. I typed in “cell separation.” The results were numbered at around 450 selections, so I decided to try a different keyword combination to perhaps cut down my result number. I typed in “microfluidic cell separation.” The results came back with a much smaller list of choices. Many of the books on the list focused on a mechanical or filter method for separating cells. However, I wanted to know more about cell lysing as a separation technique. I kept on hunting.
    I decided to switch over to Academic Search Premier, because I had read some of the other comments and noticed their success with it. I typed in a number of searches, including “microfluidic cell separation,” “cell lysing,” and “microfluidic cell lysing.” The results turned back a number of resources that had connections to my topic. There was a promising result amongst those found during my browse on Academic Search Premier. It is as follows:
    Kang JH, Park J. 2005. Technical Paper on Microfluidic Devices — Cell Separation Technology. Asia Pacific Biotech News 9:1135-1146.
    This resource highlights some of the major cell separation technologies that have been used in the past couple of years. I feel as though this could be a helpful resource as my research progresses to gain knowledge about the different kinds of cell separation technology that have been employed. I still feel like I am at the education stage of my topic. Reading this could help me progress to the next stage of hypothesizing.
    Then, I decided to try the NCSU catalog to see what it could offer. When I tried my typical keyword searches, I came up with mostly conference proceedings. These proceedings were encouraging, because it meant that my topic is somewhat of an important one currently. I found one that involved cell lysing in their topics of discussion:
    Gourley PL, Society of Photo-optical Instrumentation Engineers, International Biomedical Optics Society. 1998. Proceedings of micro- and nanofabricated structures and devices for biomedical environmental applications : 26-27 January 1998, San Jose, California. Bellingham, Wash., USA:Spie. 226 p.
    The obvious allure with this source is that it involves both the topics of cell lysing and cell separation, a combination hard to come by in my experience.
    The last search device that I decided to use was Google Scholar (and I am REALLY glad that I did). This time I tried to look only for results that talked about red blood cell lysing and how the blood sample is affected by that. I found some really good sources that way, with one in particular that I think will really help me a lot.
    Demonstration by Flow Cytometry of the Numbers of Residual White Blood Cells and Platelets in Filtered Red Blood Cell Concentrates and Plasma Preparations
    This resource basically talks about the results of an experiment on blood samples, using the cell lysing technique. It will be a good source of information on the exact thing I am trying to figure out: Are white blood cells affected by the lysis of red blood cells? Google Scholar seemed to have the monopoly on the availability of this sort of research. The only problem is that it costs $55.00 to view it. I can hopefully try to find this somewhere that can be sent to me for free!
    Overall, I had become a little discouraged from the research process, because finding appropriate research resources was difficult. Until I found the results from Google Scholar, it seemed that I was going to have to grasp at answers from a myriad of different places. I think that now, I have a better idea of where my research needs to go and what I need to get accomplished to find the necessary tools to make decisions about my research question.

    • Diana Tysinger
    • February 12th, 2007

    I searched the library?s database for ?fullerene? and got 325 hits. I clicked books on the narrow results bar and it turns out that 321 of those hits were books. Then I scrolled through the books seeing if there were any that sounded helpful. Many of them appeared to be conference proceedings. Many of the sources had to do with the actual reactions that fullerenes perform and not the possible applications of the nanostructure. It was also frustrating because I had problems getting the links to load, I?m not sure if that was a problem with the computer or the website but it hindered progress.
    One source I did find and think useful was Fullerenes and Related Structures. Although it was published in 1999, it has a good description of attempting to coat a surface with fullerenes to attempt to get the fullerene properties with a easier to procure material and fewer fullerenes. The book goes into more detail of the mechanism of actually how to coat the material than I will need for my paper.
    The book Fullerene-based Materials: Structures and Properties, provided a relatively recent look at fullerene development. It has an entire chapter on organo-fullerenes and their prospective uses and properties. One of the uses described was attempting to make a plastic solar cell by bonding a reactive metal to a fullerene and reacting that with a polymer. The reaction would take place throughout the entire cell, theoretically making the plastic solar cell more efficient than the traditional one.
    Another book that I thought was promising was The Chemistry of Nanostructured Materials. It listed many different types of nanostructures, and had a chapter on fullerenes, their properties and their uses. The source did not go into as much detail as other sources about how the fullerenes perform the specific uses, but it did explain the intended uses. The language of the book is hard to follow, but there are many citations in the references, so I can go to the different sources and search them for useful information and ideas.
    ? Hirsch, Andreas. Fullerenes and related structures 1999
    ? Prassides, Kosmas, Alloul, Henri. Fullerene-based materials : structures and properties 2004
    ? Yang, Peidong. The chemistry of nanostructured materials 2003

  1. TOPIC: What is required in the design of a quasi-independent human settlement in space?
    I found all three of my books through the NCSU Libraries Catalog… I guess that’s the hungry rat syndrome for you. The first one I have already mentioned, as I found it during my reference book search. I used the search term ?human settlement in space?. I’ve used this in the past with fair success, and I was not disappointed this time. However, I think in the future I’m going to have to branch out into other search terms.
    The first book is ?Return to the Moon? by Harrison Schmitt. This book outlines the author’s views about returning to the moon and how to make it economically profitable and sustainable. His argument hinges on the supposed practicability of a different type of fusion than is currently being heavily researched. The moon has an abundance of He3 isotopes that have been deposited by the solar wind, so mining those isotopes and returning them to earth will provide a profitable base for colonizing the moon. However, Schmitt’s scope is limited, and I disagree that the moon in the best place for a permanent human settlement. The book is quite recent (2006), which is part of what makes it an excellent source.
    The second book I found is a collection of articles from a magazine called Analogue something or rather. The book is called ?Islands in the Sky?. The introduction of the book proved to be one of the better/more applicable sections of the book. Since it’s from a magazine, the articles are not scholarly in nature, and have overtones of science fiction that make me wary of relying on them too much. This book is also rather old: early 90s.
    The third book is Space Enterprise by David Gump. This book was published in 1990, which means that a) populating Mars was a large theme, and b) the author addressed SDI as if it actually was going to work. This made me chuckle when I read it. Also, the theme of beaming down microwave power from space was highly prevalent, never mind the transmission losses, health problems, focusing problems, etc that would plague transmitting energy this way. But beyond this, the book is basically applicable, although most of what is addressed is talked about by Schmitt.
    RESEARCH PROCESS SO FAR: I guess it’s going ok. I still haven’t really sat down and cataloged my own ideas and then seen how they stack up against what everyone else thinks, and I think that this is important for me to really crystallize what I am going to address. I still feel like I’m in the beginning of the information gathering process: still getting a feel for the field and what the general ?lay of the land? is. I think I spend too long in this phase.

    • Patrick Proctor
    • February 12th, 2007

    Research Question: Do diagnostic CT scans increase one’s risk of developing cancer? If so, to what extent? Is there a maximum safe dosage level?
    I found all three of these books by searching the full version of WorldCat available through the NCSU Libraries webpage. My search string used to find the first book was the two keywords “tomography” and “cancer”. This returned about fifty results when limited to the category “books”. Both the second and third book were found with the keywords “tomography” and “radiation”. When I first started searching, I used the keyword “CT”, but I have found that any book that has CT in the title or description will also contain the word “tomography” in the description, but the reverse is not true. I therefore abandoned using “CT” as a keyword and used “tomography” exclusively.
    1. Nagel, Hans Dieter, and European Coordination Committee of the Radiological and Electromedical Industries. Radiation Exposure in Computed Tomography : Fundamentals, Influencing Parameters, Dose Assessment, Optimisation, Scanner Data, Terminology. 2nd ed. Frankfurt: COCIR, 2000.
    This book should give me a great deal of information about the different radiation dosages that are used in a wide variety of different CT procedures. I think I’ll get a lot of raw data from this book that I’ll be able to evaluate/judge based on what I find in my other sources about safe dosage levels and what amount of radiation exposure marks a threshold for possible cancer development.
    2. Neel, S. Trent. Dose Utilization in High Resolution x-Ray Imaging., 1992.
    Like my first book, this should give me some idea of what dosages are being used in typical CT scans of different portions of the body. This is an older book than my first book, so I’ll also get a chance to see whether typical radiation doses from CT scans have changed between 1992 and 2000. This opens up the possibility that people who have had CT procedures done in the past may be at greater/lesser risk than those who have the same procedures done today with modern equipment.
    3. Sandler, Martin P. Diagnostic Nuclear Medicine. 4th ed. Philadelphia: Lippincott/Williams & Wilkins, 2003.
    This is a much more general book than my first two. It focuses on all types of diagnostic nuclear medicine, but there should be more than enough information about how CT scans are performed. This will give me a good idea of just what is involved in setting up a CT scan, and what factors are considered when selecting a radiation dosage. This is also a fairly recent book, so I can probably expect the the procedures outlined in it will be very consistent with the procedures that are being carried out in hospitals today.
    My research is going well overall. One issue I’ve run into though is exporting from WorldCat to Refworks. I can do it, but I have to export as a text file and then import that from the Refworks interface. I can’t make the direct export to Refworks function. Oh well, that’s not a big deal at all. Refworks is still great and a breeze to use.

    • Myra Fulp
    • February 12th, 2007

    My research question: “What will be the greatest effect of soaring prescription drug costs for the baby boomer generation?”
    I did a keyword search in the NCSU library catalogue for “baby boomers.” I then narrowed the results by choosing books and ebooks only under format. I narrowed my results further by looking only at books published after 2003.
    1. “The Futures of Old Age” edited by John A. Vincent, Chris Phillipson and Murna Downs. It was published by Sage Publications in London in 2006. It was co-authored by John Vincent, Chris Phillipson, Murna Downs, and the British Society of Gerontology. It seems like a very reliable source because of its ties to the British Society of Gerontology. I think it will be helpful for evaluating the most recent views on issues in old age.
    I then did a keyword search in the NCSU catalogue for “prescription drug costs” and narrowed the search by choosing “prescription prices” under subject:topic and “book” under format. Once again, I only chose post 2003 sources.
    2. “Powerful medicines : the benefits, risks, and costs of prescription drugs” written by Jerry Avorn and published by Vintage Books in New York in 2005. This is a second publication of this book which leads me to believe that it is a reliable source. It is also recent, which makes the information more relevant to the ever changing field.
    3. “The $800 million pill : the truth behind the cost of new drugs” by Merrill Goozner and published by University of Califoria Press in Berkeley in 2004. Once again this is also a current source. Its reliability is added to by the fact that it was published by a university press. The summary of this book indicates that this source will provide information as to why drugs cost as much as they do.
    So far my research is going a little slow, I feel like I have a good topic with lots of information out there but I’m not getting as many results as I’d like because I can’t phrase the search string effectively.

    • Meagan Stewart
    • February 12th, 2007

    I began my search in NCSU?s catalog, and I searched ?Alzheimer?s? in the subject heading, and then narrowed it by research. I found a lot of interesting works, but a lot of them were 94-95 page hearings before subcommittees, written out in a ?he said, she said? format. I found some of them to contain good facts, but they were very hard to skim and pick out the important parts. I then searched ?neurodengeration? and ?Alzheimer?s? under ?Anywhere,? and narrowed down to ?Nervous system Degeneration? through an LC heading, where I found an interesting source:
    O?zben, T. & Chevion, M. (2004). Frontiers in neurodegenerative disorders and aging: Fundamental aspects, clinical perspectives and new insights. Burke, VA: IOS Press.
    This seemed like the most relevant resource for getting a broad overview of the newly found insights into neurodegenerative diseases, especially since it was published so recently. It also has to do with Alzheimer?s because it focuses specifically on disorders and aging, which will keep me focused to answering my research question. This looked authoritative because it contained an index of bibliographies.
    I continued my search in this area, but a lot of the works I found were not recent enough (some more than ten years old), so I switched to UNC Chapel Hill?s library homepage and searched for ?Alzheimer*? and ?causes*? under ??Any Field.? I found a book that seemed very relevant called Prevention and treatment of age-related diseases, but Chapel Hill did not have it in their library or very much bibliographic information about it, so I am going to try to order it through Tripsaver at NC State. I found another source that their library did have, and I will also order it through Tripsaver:
    Tanzi, R.E. & Parson, A.B. (2000). Decoding darkness: The search for the genetic causes of Alzheimer?s disease. Cambridge, Massachusetts: Perseus Publishing.
    This looked like a great source because part of my research paper focuses on the causes of Alzheimer?s disease, and it specifically focuses on genetic, which will hopefully give me more insight into the nerve degeneration aspect. It was also published fairly recently (within the past ten years) and it contained a bibliographic index.
    I then switched to a new search, and searched ?neurogloic? and ?disease,? at NCSU?s course catalog, which found almost 200 sources. I narrowed by diseases, which brought up about 75, and I found this book:
    Rosenberg, R.N. (2003). The molecular and genetic basis of neurologic and psychiatric
    disease. Philadelphia, PA: Butterworth-Heinemann.
    It looks to be a great source for learning about the basis of neurological diseases, and the science behind why they happen in general. This book may even be divided by diseases, so a particular section on Alzheimer?s disease would be even more helpful. It was also published recently, and it includes bibliographical references, which leads me to believe it is an authoritative and scholarly source.
    I am afraid that using World Cat for a book would create difficulty in getting my hands on the hard copies, so I tried using the local catalogs to search for my sources, but I did find one book that seemed very pertinent through ?closed? World Cat. Searching ?Alzheimer genetic? under keyword I found:
    Tolnay, M. & Probst, A. (2001). Neuropathology and genetics of dementia. New York: Kluwer Academic/Plenum Publishers.
    This book seemed over my head in a lot of what it discussed, but it did talk about a chromosome that had directly been linked to forms of dementia and ?parkinsonism,? in addition to a role that a specific gene played in the ?pathogenesis of Alzheimer’s disease.? It was scholarly because it was conference publication, and it contains a bibliographic reference and index. It is also published relatively recently.
    Overall, this search process was a lot easier than the search for reference works, particularly because my topic is about something so new. I believe these are the best sources for books because out of all the ones I found they seem to touch on the topics I wrote about directly in my research question, so hopefully they will help me keep my focus on my question and not wander off on other interesting tangents in my paper.
    All of these works seem authoritative because all of them said ?contains bibliographic indexes? under their descriptions. This leads me to believe that they are scholarly sources, and that they will lead to other possible sources for me to use as well. I want to try to search through LC headings more, because I usually turn up good results when I do this and come up with better, more refined search terms.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments are closed.
