Blog Assignment #8

The blog assignment for this week isn’t related to what we’ve been studying this past week, as it usually is, but you should be able to do it fairly easily anyway, and I hope you’ll find it useful and interesting. E-mail me if you have trouble.

This week, please give as much information as you can about what seems to be the most important peer-reviewed journal for your research question. (Please don’t do either Science or Nature: those journals are very important, but they cover many disciplines.) List at least the following:

  1. The full title of the journal
  2. The name of the scholarly association that puts out the journal
  3. The name or names of the chief editors of the journal (up to 3)
  4. The year the journal was first published
  5. How often it comes out (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.)
  6. What years are available online through the NCSU Libraries databases
  7. What years are available in print in the NCSU Libraries stacks
  8. The name of the company that publishes the journal
  9. The cost for an individual to subscribe to the journal (assume that the individual wants to get the whole journal both in print and online)
  10. The cost for a library or institution to subscribe to the journal (assume that the library wants to get the whole journal both in print and online)

Most of that information should be available in the NCSU Libraries Catalog (remember you can limit by “Journal, Magazine or Serial” using the left-hand links) or on the journal’s website. If it isn’t, then get a bound, printed copy of the journal and look inside the cover.

  1. In addition, do the following: Look up your journal title in either Journal Citation Reports: Science Edition or Journal Citation Reports: Social Science Edition. (Unfortunately, we don’t subscribe to the Humanities Edition.) Give both the Total Cites and the Impact Factor for that journal for 2005.

Roughly speaking, the higher your journal’s “impact factor” is, the more important the journal is. Just as an author who is frequently cited by others is probably an important author, a journal that is frequently cited in other journals is probably an important journal.

Finally, as usual, tell us how your research in general is going, and reflect on this particular assignment. For instance, you might browse through the journals in your field in Journal Citation Reports and compare the journal you chose to look up with other journals — how does it stack up? How many articles have you found from that journal? Would you ever consider subscribing to it yourself? Does the journal’s mission statement identify a particular method or approach, and is that method or approach consistent with what you think is the best way to address your research question? Did you find out anything about the journal that surprised you?

    • Nikki Harris
    • March 25th, 2007

    1. Climate Dynamics
    2. The American Meterological Association
    3. J. C. Duplessy, E. Manzini, E. K. Schneider
    4. 1986
    5. Quarterly
    6. Through Academic Search Premier, selected articles are available from 4/1/2003 to a year ago. But I can also go to Springerlink Contemporary online and see full issues from 1/1/1997 to 4/16/2007.
    7. The print copies of the journal are available in the Natural Resources Library. The oldest bound copy they have is 1986-1988, and the most recent is the Dec 2006 issue.
    8. Springer Berlin / Heidelberg
    9. I cannot find the prices for individuals. I can request to order the journal, but I only found library prices. I get the impression that the journal is only available for sale to authors, libraries, etc, not just anyone who whant to order the journal.
    10. For libraries to have “free access” or E-only, it is $3,412 or $4,094.40 for “Enhanced access”
    11.Total cites: 3,279; impact factor: 3.468
    This assignment was fun. It was neat exploring a journal and learning more about where I am getting articles from. I found it interesting that this journal was published in Germany and I was surprised to find that the publisher published so many journals. This journal doesn’t have the most cites compared to similar journals, but it does have one of the highest impact factors. This is good since I have found a good journal. Since I have been searching through databases for articles, I haven’t paid attention to the journal from which the articles are coming. I will have to go back and see if any of my articles are from this journal. I don’t think I will every subscribe to this journal since it doesn’t fit into my discipline. If I was a meterologist, I might subscribe to it if I was doing research. But after doing this assignment, I might subscrive to a chemistry or vet journal, since that falls under what I am doing for a career. These journals would be useful to me for my own research and just seeing what others are doing in my discipline. I wish I knew what it cost for me to subscribe to this journal, because then I could see if I would really subscribe to a journal in the future. But if I ever have an article published in a journal, I will try to buy (or just get) a copy of the journal!
    My research is still going well. One of my friends is a meterology major, so I have asked her to help me. She helped me find a really good article the other day that will be very useful. This assignment has allowed me to understand where my articles are coming from. But everything seems to be coming together well so far.

    • Myra Fulp
    • March 25th, 2007

    1. Journal of the American Veterinary Medical Association (JAVMA)
    2. American Veterinary Medical Association
    3. Dr. Janis H. Audin, Editor-In-Chief
    4. 1915
    5. Semimonthly (twice a month)
    6. 2000-2007 (present)
    7. D.H. Hill Library Stacks: Incomplete collection beginning with v. 59 (1921), Vet Med Library Stacks: All volumes from the beginning of its publication in 1915 to 2006.
    8. AVMA publishes this journal themselves
    9. $165 a year
    Journal of Citation Reports: Science Edition (searched using ISSN)
    Total Cites (2005): 9734
    Impact Factor (2005): 1.266
    This assignment was interesting because it confirmed the advice that Dr. Koci gave me in the expert interview assignment. Compared to the Journal of Virology, this journal has information that is much more relevant to answering my research question since the JoV has mostly highly technical articles. In fact, JAVMA has a special link on the website specifically for influenza. In the future, I hope to subscribe to this journal if I decide to attend vet school.

    • Dylan Selinger
    • March 25th, 2007

    1) Leisure Studies
    2) Leisure Studies Association
    3) David Crouch – University of Derby, UK
    Sarah Gilroy – University College Chichester, UK
    Neil Ravenscroft – Chelsea School, University of Brighton, UK
    4) 1975
    5) Quarterly
    6) 1996-2007
    7) 1982-2007
    8) Routledge
    9/10) Institutional cost – $776
    Personal cost- $228
    11) I couldn’t find the journal, It’s not in the list.
    I thought that it was interesting that there were more issues of the journal available in the stacks than online, but I guess it makes sense that journals from the early 80’s wouldn’t be online. I was kinda frustrated that I could not find the journal in the Journal Citation Reports, but I know that it is a very useful journal since my expert mentioned it, and I have several articles from it. I need to start reading more of my articles, and hope to begin putting things together this week. I might consider subscribing to the journal, but it has plenty of things in it that I would never read. It is not the absolute most specific to my topic question, but contains very useful information about my field and some about the topic I am researching.

    • Patrick Proctor
    • March 25th, 2007

    1. American Journal of Roentgenology
    2. American Roentgen Ray Society
    3. Robert J. Stanley, MD
    4. 1965
    5. Monthly
    6. None
    7. 1976-2006
    8. Stanford University Libraries
    9. $303.00
    10. $485.00
    11. Total Cites: 18,510
    Impact Factor: 2.209
    This assignment was beneficial because it allowed me to see a ranked list of journals that are related to the one I chose. Mine happened to be the second highest according to impact factor, right behind the standout leader “Radiology.” This confirms what Dr. Novak told me in my expert interview. He said that he sorts potential reading sources by impact factor before deciding which ones to devote his time to. Web of Knowledge does a good job of letting me see that process for myself. My research process is going very well, and although I’m not running short of sources, I think I’ll check out “Radiology” since its impact factor is so high. I’d like to use at least one reference from it if I can. I plan to go to medical school and become a radiologist, so I very well may subscribe to these two journals in the future.

    • Meagan Stewart
    • March 26th, 2007

    1. The Journal of Neuroscience: The official Journal of the Society for Neuroscience
    2. Society for Neuroscience
    3. Editor in Chief: Gary L. Westbrook; Senior editors divided based on four departments: Behavioral/Systems/Cognitive, Cellular/Molecular, Development/Plasticity/Repair, Neurobiology of Disease
    4. The first journal was published in 1981
    5. It is published weekly, one volume a year.
    6. NCSU gives the option to View online abstracts (v. 1, no. 1, 1981-present) and full-text articles (v. 16, no. 9, 1996-Present)
    7. All years (1981-2006) available at Veterinary Medicine Library: STACKS– QP351 .J65
    8. Published by the Society for Neuroscience, with the assistance of Stanford University’s HighWire Press
    9. 2007 Print plus Online Rates (by Region):
    USA
    sfN Members: $415
    Student Members: $217
    Rest of the World
    sfN Members: $459
    Student Members: $459
    Add for Shipping Rates:
    Within USA: add $75
    Outside US: add $100
    10. For Institutions:
    Print plus online: $2,790 (Includes the print edition and site-wide license access to the online edition of The Journal.)
    Add for Shipping Rates: Within USA: add $120
    Outside US: add $298
    11. Total Cites: 96732, Impact Factor: 7.506
    Compared to other journals that many of my research articles are published in, the Journal of Neuroscience does not stack up very well. I believe this is because a lot of the journals articles that are important in my research come from Science, Nature, Cell, etc. which, as stated in the assignment, are very broad and cover a lot of different disciplines. As the journal gets more specific, for example with the Journal of Neural Transmission, the Journal of Neuroscience has a higher impact factor and total cites. I have found four articles from the Journal of Neuroscience that have significant relevance to my topic. If I had a job and had a substantial income, I would consider subscribing to it, but the price is very steep for the average college student.
    It surprised me that this journal?s website did not have a mission statement anywhere on it, or any identification of a particular method/approach. I think this because it covers such a wide range material?even though Neuroscience is more specific than Science or Nature, it still covers vast number of diseases and experiments that cannot be assigned a correct methodology to encompass all the subjects. It also surprised me that I could access any article on the Journal of Neurosciences? website?I could read any article in the archive as well as any article in the current issue. I don?t understand why anyone except a University would pay for the print copies, because the online articles are available to anyone.
    In general my research is going slow. I am having trouble trying to figure out how to incorporate my discovery about the amyloid data process into my research question. I need to do more in depth research on the hypothesis to find out exactly what has been published about the validity of the idea. The Journal of Neursoceince has two promising articles about the amyloid hypothesis that will hopefully provide some guidance as to where I need to go from here in tweaking my question.

    • Joseph Barton
    • March 26th, 2007

    1. Journal of Applied Polymer Science
    2. John Wiley & Sons, Inc.
    3. Eric Baer and Anne Hiltner
    4. 1946
    5. Bimonthly
    6. v. 1 issue 1 (1946) to present
    7. All issues are available in print form. Most older issues are split between D.H. Hill stacks and the College of Textiles Library.
    8. Wiley InterScience
    9. For one year subscription online and in print, price is $20,845.00.
    10. $20,845.00. (same as above)
    11. Total cites: 24233, Impact Factor: 1.072
    This assignment was useful in finding how useful and authoritative a particular journal is. Also, the journal?s website really looks like a retail page (a website geared for selling things), which shows once again how much of a business it is for information. I may do a couple of searches directly from journal websites to see what I come up with because some of my search queues from a database search may have been to large to see some entries from a particular journal. I chose to use ?Journal of Applied Polymer Science? because I found many entries that would work for my research; however, I found that ?Advances in Polymer Science? had an impact factor of 4.319 and ?Nature? has an impact factor of 29.273, but I do not have any entries from those two journals. My search may therefore be too specific for it to be in a journal that impacts many researchers. If I am able to subscribe to journals in the future, I would subscribe to specialized journals such as the one I used for this blog because there may not be as much information in databases that are provided for those at a university. In other words, I may subscribe to journals with lower impact factors that are specific to my particular research that I may not find in higher impact journals. The mission statement for the journal I analyzed is, ?The Journal of Applied Polymer Science reports progress and significant results in the systematic, practical application of polymer science. Areas of focus include plastics and their composites, blends, elastomers, films and membranes, fibers, coatings and adhesives, studies of emulsions and latices, aging of polymers, structural property-processing relationships, extrusion and molding, diffusion, and permeability,? which should be the aim of any scientific journal to report results in a systematic, practical way. Including the focus of the journal shows how specialized this particular journal is, and is convenient for possible subscribers to know. It was cool to see that on the journal?s website there is a ?news? section that reports the most astounding new finds that were published recently.

    • Diana Tysinger
    • March 26th, 2007

    ? The full title of the journal
    Fullerenes, Nanotubes, and Carbon Nanostructures
    ? The name of the scholarly association that puts out the journal
    The Taylor and Francis Group
    ? The name or names of the chief editors of the journal (up to 3)
    D.M. Guldi, K.-P Dinse, S. Fukuzumi
    ? The year the journal was first published
    1993
    ? How often it comes out (weekly, monthly, quarterly, etc.)
    4 times a year
    ? What years are available online through the NCSU Libraries databases
    2001-present
    ? What years are available in print in the NCSU Libraries stacks
    Only available online
    ? The name of the company that publishes the journal
    Taylor & Francis
    ? The cost for an individual to subscribe to the journal (assume that the individual wants
    to get the whole journal both in print and online)
    556.00
    ? The cost for a library or institution to subscribe to the journal (assume that the library wants to get the whole journal both in print and online)
    2471.00
    This journal has an impact factor of .097 and a total of 140 cites. I think that this is so low because it is an incredibly specific journal as well as a relatively new journal. I was very surprised at how low those numbers were especially considering some have an impact factor as high as 30 or more. I chose this journal because it appears to be the only journal specifically concerned with my topic. Most of the information for this assignment was relatively easy to find, being on the journal?s website. It was harder to find the year that the journal was first published and I had to search return to the MetaPress site and look for the chronological journal listing, and that way I found that this journal was first published in 1993. I also found the prices confusing. It was very specific about the institutional prices but vague about the individual ones. I am unsure if the individual price is per year or per issue. I think that it is per year, but I have not been able to find any information that says definitely one way or the other. I doubt that I would ever subscribe to this or any journal because the things that I am interested in range a broad spectrum and I don?t think that spending that much money on one particular topic is the best use of it. If I were to ever get a job where I was dealing with a very specific field and needed to be very current on the research in that field, then I would consider subscribing to a particular journal individually.

    • Genevieve Pike
    • March 26th, 2007

    1. Journal of Pulp & Paper Science
    2. Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada
    3. Dr. Derek H. Page
    4. March 1975
    5. quarterly
    6. No electronic copies
    7. 1984-2002, 2004
    8. Pulp and Paper Technical Association of Canada
    9. $251.69
    10. $251.69
    11. Impact Factor: 0.736 Total Cites: 905
    According to my expert, this is probably the most important journal in our field. I am quite surprised at how difficult it was to find simple information just like editor and publisher. My research is so-so, it is very difficult to find information on stuff that doesn’t work, but I am looking at other options. I actually don’t have any articles from this journal yet. Most of my articles are from the Journal of Wood Chemistry and Technology, but I had such a hard time finding the information for that journal, that I gave up and switched. I didn’t find any mission statement either. There was more information about the Canadian association as opposed to the journal itself. I was surprised to find that the price for the journal article was the same no matter what, and its unavailability on-line.

    • Jeremy Bartucca
    • March 26th, 2007

    1. Journal of Structural Engineering
    2. American Society of Civil Engineers
    3. Sashi Kunnath, Ph.D., P.E., University of California, Davis
    4. January 1993
    5. Monthly
    6. January 1993 – April 2007
    7. January 1993 – April 2007
    8. American Society of Civil Engineers
    9. $727
    10. $1,163
    11. Journal was unlisted
    My research as of current is going extremely well. As I have have mentioned before there are not many roadblocks that I have encountered in my search for valid sources. One thing that surprised me though was that (and I double and triple checked this) that The Journal of Structural Engineering was not listed on the impact factor website. From what I can tell, it is one of the most respected journals in that field and it is published by a very well respected organization, the American Society of Structural Engineers. Again, specifically about this journal it is hard to give it credit personally compared to other journals like it other than just looking at the institutions that publish them. If I were to look at the actual text, though I am for the most part nearing my junior year in civil engineering, it could be difficult for me to tell the most valid journal because the information is so incredibly technical and structures specific. However, from the sources that I have looked at from this journal I am very impressed with, though technical, they are very thorough and valid.

    • Amy Stepp
    • March 26th, 2007

    1. Analytical Chemistry
    2. American Chemical Society
    3. Royce M. Murray (from UNC)
    4. It?s original name was Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Analytical Edition (from 1929 to 1947), and was then renamed Analytical Chemistry in 1947.
    5. Every two weeks
    6. It is available electronically from 1929 to the present.
    7. Print copies are available in the Stacks from August 1994 until the present. All other years (including those from the Industrial and Engineering Chemistry Analytical Edition) are in the Satellite Shelving Facility (a closed section of the library).
    8. American Chemical Society Publications
    9. For American Chemical Society members, it costs $192. For students, it costs $144. (Rates are for print copies in the United States.) The web rate is $85.
    10. The institution rate for Analytical Chemistry is $1, 558.
    11. Total cites: 64,301
    Journal Import factor: 5.635
    I chose this journal, because it seemed to pop up a lot throughout my research. It was a really cool exercise, because it taught us how to judge if a particular journal is particularly authoritative or not. This can be helpful for new researchers who aren’t necessarily the ones who are best equipped to infer that on their own. I thought it was really interesting that the editor noted on the website is located right here in the triangle. Sometimes I forget that the resources available in our immediate area are so rich with information. As far as if I would subscribe to this journal or not… I am reluctant to subscribe to ANY journal. As a poor student, I just don’t think I’d hand over the money. However, I suppose any researcher who is dedicated to their work needs to be knowledgable about what’s happening in the field. So, after all, I guess I could sacrifice a few luxuries if I was working as a researcher. This journal seems quite notable and relied on by other researchers, so it would probably be a worth-while expense. I’m just happy that I get to access most journals that I need to (regardless of whether or not my tuition paid for it).

    • Christopher Padgett
    • March 26th, 2007

    TOPIC: designing an independent, permanent human settlement in space.
    1. Journal of Spacecraft and Rockets
    2. AIAA (American Institute of Aeronautics and Astronautics)
    3. E. Vincent Zoby (with NASA)
    4. didn?t find, I suspect 1964
    5. Bimonthly
    6. none
    7. 1964-current
    8. Didn?t see another company?s name, said published by AIAA
    9. $55 / yr
    10. $850 / yr

    • Maggie Hennessy
    • March 26th, 2007

    1. Environmental Impact Assessment Review
    2. Elsevier (I couldn’t find a specific scholarly associaation that puts out this journal.)
    3. Eric Johnson
    4. 1980
    5. Bimonthly with occasional special issues
    6. March 1980 – present
    7. 1995- present
    8. Elsevier
    9. $149/year
    10. $763/ year
    11. This journal was not found in the search.
    This assignment was frustrating. It was hard to find most of the information and some of it just wasn’t available. This journal seems to be very relevant to my topic, but because it wasn’t found in the search to find it’s impact, it kind of discourages me to use it. I feel like a more important journal might be out there, and I don’t know about it. Hopefully that fear is unwarrented because it is a specialized journal. I really need to pick up the pace with my research. I’m finding a lot of information but definately need to start reading and weeding through it.

    • Maggie Hennessy
    • March 26th, 2007

    1. Environmental Impact Assessment Review
    2. Elsevier (I couldn’t find a specific scholarly associaation that puts out this journal.)
    3. Eric Johnson
    4. 1980
    5. Bimonthly with occasional special issues
    6. March 1980 – present
    7. 1995- present
    8. Elsevier
    9. $149/year
    10. $763/ year
    11. This journal was not found in the search.
    This assignment was frustrating. It was hard to find most of the information and some of it just wasn’t available. This journal seems to be very relevant to my topic, but because it wasn’t found in the search to find it’s impact, it kind of discourages me to use it. I feel like a more important journal might be out there, and I don’t know about it. Hopefully that fear is unwarrented because it is a specialized journal. I really need to pick up the pace with my research. I’m finding a lot of information but definately need to start reading and weeding through it.

    • Maggie Hennessy
    • March 26th, 2007

    sorry, i didn’t mean to post twice!

    • Adam Nock
    • March 27th, 2007

    1. International Journal of Mathematical Education in Science & Technology
    2. Mathematics Education Centre
    3. Dr M. C. Harrison
    4. 1970
    5. 8 times a year.
    6. 1998 to now with a one year delay.
    7. 1970-2001
    8. Taylor & Francis
    9. $2067
    10. $2523
    11. This journal is not in the list.
    I was surprised to find the journal that my interview listed was not on the NCSU site. I had only only two choices here at NCSU for a journal in my field.

    • Amber Joyner
    • March 27th, 2007

    1. American Journal of Political Science
    2. No scholarly association
    3. Marianne C. Stewart
    4. 1956
    5. Quarterly
    6. 1973-2006
    7. 1957-present
    8. Midwest Political Science Assosciation
    9. $388/year
    10. I couldn’t find a separate price listing for libraries or institutions.
    11. total cites: 3123
    impact factor: 1.845
    This journal has a really high impact factor related to the other journals in the political science field. It also has one of the greatest number of cites. I’ve found several articles from this journal that are relevant to my topic. Since this is the American Journal of Political Science it covers a very broad subject base, it is a very scholarly source of information and very authoritative in the field of political science.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Comments are closed.
